Participating Countries

home home Participating Countries

Participating Countries of the Campaign

Though achieving education for all children with visual impairment is the overall objective of the campaign, it is implemented in a phased manner through the participating countries recommended by the Global Task Force on the basis of the following criteria.

Criteria for selecting countries

  • Presence of a functioning organisation(s) of the blind
  • Programmes for EFA already in place
  • Availability of facilities for human resource development (such as teacher training)
  • Evidence of Government’s commitment to fulfill the Millennium Development Goals
  • NGDOs actively working in the country in the area of education (local and International NGOs)
  • Existing capacity to support the education of children with visual impairment (such as Braille production centres)
  • Focus on inclusive education in respect to Poverty Reduction Strategy Programmes
  • Countries which are active in implementing Blindness Prevention Programmes (such as the Vision 2020 programme)
  • Countries which have the potential to make impact on other countries within the region
  • Formation of National Task Forces with representation from the Government

Participating Countries:

  • Bolivia
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cambodia
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Ghana
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mozambique
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Palestine
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Rwanda
  • The Dominican Republic
  • Uganda
  • Vietnam